What is Facebook Malicious Tagging and How to Avoid It?

Facebook users have drawn attention to a social engineering scam that could be spreading malware on the platform.

Contacts or strangers are tagging users on a post containing a connection to an ostensibly adult video. The sexual content is a ploy to direct users to an external site to download a Flash player update to watch the video. Instead of pornography, viewers are exposed to a malware infection, which puts one’s details at risk and could result in the malware taking over one’s Facebook account to spread further.

Security researchers refer to this as “malicious tagging,” It can be prevented by not clicking on strange links, especially on content tagged by strangers.

You may also inspect the domain by hovering your mouse over the Facebook message. If you’re on a laptop, the connection should appear in the bottom left corner of the window. For smartphone users, click the three dots in the upper right corner of the post and copy the connection to a notepad.

Suppose the link is unfamiliar or a shortened link concealing a potentially dangerous URL. In that case, it is best to treat it as difficult, particularly if the post is sensational, surprising, or appealing to emotions and senses. Don’t assume that just because a tag comes from a friend that it’s secure.

How do you avoid being a victim of malicious tagging?

1. First, go to Facebook account settings

2. In the settings page, find the Notification Settings

3. Search the “What Notifications You Receive” section, then select the “Tags” button

4. Lastly, go to “Get notifications when you’re tagged by” then choose the “Friends” button

Then done, the only ones who can tag you are your friends.

+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0
+1
0

Enter your email and get notified when new content is added!

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend