Twitter has now added a new feature that allows you to “Unmention” yourself on tweets, threads, and conversations that you want to be removed from.
By having the power to exit a conversation, untag their username, stop future mentions on the thread, and disable alerts on that specific conversation, users can take control of what they want to be engaged with.
Unmention yourself on any Tweet by clicking the three-dot menu next to the tweet’s settings. After that, click “Leave this chat.” This will bring up a pop-up where you must select “Leave this conversation” once more to confirm.
Once completed, your account will no longer be tagged on the Tweet, but your username will remain as black text with no account associated with it.
Starting today, Twitter’s new Unmention feature will be gradually rolled out to all users across all devices.